Shahnaz Husain Matte Mousse Foundation

I was searching for a good face primer all over the shopping websites and found that they are on the expensive side compared to the actual makeup products. Since I am not an expert in applying makeup I wanted something cheaper. So I just searched in Shahnaz Husain products and found this Matte Mousse foundation. I thought it may be a primer since there were no shade specification. Normally we buy foundation based on our complexion so I couldn’t imagine a brand selling foundation without any shade specification. I ordered it on an impulse and regretted. Because what I had to do before ordering the product I did much later, reading the reviews. Though I didn’t get any reviews online, I found more details about the product and realized that it’s a foundation and not a makeup base.

Anyways it arrived 3 days later with a grin on the face making me worry about the other 2 foundations awaiting for their turn in my cupboard 😦 Since there was no review about this one available online, I decided to be the first one 🙂

Claims :

  • provides a pure matte look with complete coverage to conceal pores and fine lines,giving  the skin a flawless look.
  • Containing precious botanical extracts of saffron,sandalwood rose, date and aloe vera, it imparts an immaculate glow, tones the skin and leaves it soft and moisturized with a porcelain look.

Price: 415 INR Quantity: 50 ml
Shelf life : 2yrs

Ingredients: Purified Water, Paraffinum Liquidum, Talc, Glycerin, Steraic acid, Aluminium Starch, Octenylsuccinate, Rose Distillate, Dimethicone, Glyceryl sterate, Cetyl Palmitate, titanium dioxide, Alumina, Simethicone, Magnesium Aluminium Silicate, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Isopropyl Myristate, Aloe vera juice, Triethanolamine, Sandalwood Extract, nylon 12, Date extract, Parfum, Tocopherol, saffron extract, methyl paraben, propyl paraben, CI 77491, CI 77492

It looks as if it contains more of chemicals rather than natural ingredients. It sounds scary for me when I go through the ingredients list.

Now let’s see how the prodcut actually is. You know I bought this from violetbag.com. They do a very difficult packing which I made me sweat while opening:-(
The packing of the foundation is just the traditional Shahnaz Husain way in pale green cover. It’s written Saffron enriched foundation on top of the cover so I hope it may have some good effects on my complexion and skin. I have good faith in Shahnaz Husain products since the under eye serum I used had worked wonders on my dark circles over a period of a couple of months.

The outer cover

Unlike other products of Shahnaz Husain this one comes in a opaque plastic bottle with a nozzle.

The bottle

The nozzle

I tried to squeeze some product out of the bottle through the nozzle many times but it didn’t come out. Don’t know whether it’s a faulty piece which I got. Finally I opened the bottle to see the product. It had a long tube reaching till the bottom of the bottle attached with the nozzle. I wonder whether this is a good system since the product is not a lotion it’s a mousse which is thicker than a lotion.

The product inside the bottle

The shade looked darker than my skin tone. I was wondering why they have not given the shade and skin type for which the product suits the best.

The tube picking up product from the bottle

The product looks too thick to be picked up by the tube and dispensed through the nozzle.

The mousse on the back of my hand

You can see the difference in the shade from my complexion.

blended

I was so disappointed to see how it showed on my skin after blending well also. It looked so cakey though as per the claim it gives a complete matte finish.

After a few minutes

After few minutes of application and thorough blending some part of the product was absorbed by the skin. Still it didn’t match my skin color closely. One part of the hand looked different from the other where the product was not applied.

Without flash

So to conclude, I don’t think this can be used as a primer or makeup foundation. I don’t know whether it has any therapeutic purpose or simply for  makeup base. May be according to the claim long term use will give some results but how can I wear this outside since my face will definitely look different from the rest of my body. However I should find a way to finish it off soon.

I will just give it a 2/5 and will not consider buying it again. Shahnaz Husain didn’t live upto the expectation this time:-( .

Leave a Reply

