Some foodie talk…

Since I love food as much as I love makeup, I thought to post something realted to food today. It’s not a full fledged recipe post or a review of any product but some small tips to cook something more tasty and use leftover food. 

Do you like poori? The hot crispy pooris and your favourite potato masala with it? I too love them! This is what I normally do to make Poori more tasty at home.

Poori

  1. Add 1/4 cup of milk mixed with water to mix the wheat flour to make the dough the poori will turn  out to be more tasty.
  2. Add two tbsp of Sooji(Rava) to the wheat floor while making the dough to make crispy pooris. 
  3. Add 1 tsp of carom seeds(ajwain in Hindi and Ayamodakam in Malayalam) to the flour to make the dough, it will give a different flavour to the Pooris

Have you got some leftover Rotis or Chapatis from yesterday’s dinner? No need to throw them away. See how we can make a delicious breakfast with leftover Rotis.

Chapatis

  1. Chop some onions,tomatoes,green chillies and corriander leaves and mix them well adding little bit of salt.
  2. Put the vegetable mix on one side of the roti and roll it to the other end. Apply some cheese on the end and fix it so that the roll will not open.
  3. Now add some oil in a pan and shallow fry these rotis and here you get a good breakfast item!

Alternatively if you have some side dish of the roti leftover, you can roll rotis using them and fry in the same way. You have to only see that the dish is not too watery that it will come out of the roll.

Oh ok, you don’t have Rotis but some idlis as leftover? No problem we can use them wisely for a new snack.

Idlis

  1. Cut the idlis  into small cubes.
  2. Now chop some tomatoes and corrainder leaves.Heat oil in a pan and sputter mustard seeds, dried red chillies, curry leaves and 1/2 tsp of methi seeds(fenugreek).
  3. Fry the tomatoes adding chilly powder and salt. Add one tsp of sambar masala to this and fry well.
  4. Mix the chopped corriander leaves and fry well. Add the idli cubes and mix well. Here the new snack ready!

You love Masala dosa and crispy dosa that you have at restaurants? You can make them with same taste at home also.

Masala Dosa

  1. If you are buying readymade batter, just mix two tsp of methi powder(fenugreek) with water and make a paste and add to the batter.
  2. Mix the batter well and without adding more water, spread it out on hot tava keeping the flame low.
  3. Once the batter is spread raise the flame and pour one tsp desi ghee over it.(This is for non-stick tava) Turn over the dosa and reduce the flame. Leave the dosa for 2 minutes and move it to a plate.

If you are not using readymade batter just soak two tsp full of fenugreek seeds with rice and urad dal for making the batter. Adding 1/4 cup of ground cooked rice also helps to make crispy dosa.

Love maggi? The good old masala maggi? I too love it. But in a different way.

Maggi Masala Noodles

  1. What I do is that I cook maggi by adding a bit more water(not too much though).
  2. I fry some chopped onions and green chilles in desi ghee adding salt. Then I break one egg and pour it over this.
  3. I scramble the egg well and finally add cooked maggi and mix well till the water is evaporated and scrambled egg-maggi is ready!

Do you also try out such quick recipes at home? Please share them with me…

 

2 thoughts on “Some foodie talk…

  1. I luv this scrabbled egg maggi. I frequently make it dear. It is my indulgence. I use chicken flavour though. I luv ur idea of a mix platter recipes on one post 🙂

    • Hi Sherin, thanks. I have not tried the chicken maggi with egg. Initially when chicken flavour was introduced I had tried it and didn’t like it as much as masala flavour. So never tried it again. With egg, may be that tastes better. Please post your version in your blog. My husband always wants change in food and I wonder what to make. I once bought oregano, rosemary and thymes to make something and now it’s sitting on my shelf like show pieces 😦

Leave a Reply

