Faces Nail Enamel Remover Review

When my Lakme nail polish remover got over I wanted to get a new one. As I was buying a blush from Faces Cosmetics counter, the SA introduced me to their nail polish remover which attracted me because of it’s peach colour which is different from the usual Lakme blue one or the colourless waterlike ones from other brands. I bought it immediately. But all that glitters is not gold. Let’s see how…

Faces Nail Enamel Remover

Claims :

  • Acetone Free
  • Enriched with Vitamin E
  • Does not dry the nails

Price 99 INR for 30ml. Obviously costlier than Lakme.

I was wondering what do they mean by ‘Acetone free’. I googled and found out this.

“Acetone has been studied extensively and is generally recognized to have low acute and chronic toxicity if ingested and/or inhaled. Inhalation of high concentrations (around 9200 ppm) in the air caused irritation of the throat in humans in as little as 5 minutes. Inhalation of concentrations of 1000 ppm caused irritation of the eyes and of the throat in less than 1 hour; however, the inhalation of 500 ppm of acetone in the air caused no symptoms of irritation in humans even after 2 hours of exposure. Acetone is not currently regarded as a carcinogen, a mutagenic chemical or a concern for chronic neurotoxicity effects.

Acetone can be found as an ingredient in a variety of consumer products ranging from cosmetics to processed and unprocessed foods. Acetone has been rated as a GRAS (Generally Recognized as Safe) substance when present in beverages, baked foods, desserts, and preserves at concentrations ranging from 5 to 8 mg/L. Additionally, a joint U.S-European study found that acetone’s health hazards are slight.”

I don’t know why they even bothered to menton it on the bottle. The bottle is the usual one, transparent glass one with a turn open cap.

The cap

I decided to apply it on my long lasting Colorbar nail enamel to see how it works. I took a cotton and put two drops of the liquid on it. I was wondering whether something came on since I couldn’t practically see anything but got that spirit like usual smell of  nail polish removers.

Nail Enamel Remover on Cotton

Anyhow when I tried to wipe off my nail polish first it refused to budge. I tried 2 times and got some of the nail paint removed but not impressively!

First two wipes over my colorbar nail polish

You can see that the nail polish laughing at me and my new nail polish remover.  I was not willing to give up since the failure hurt my ego. I put again 2-3 drops on the cotton and with vigorous rubbing removed the nail polish finally. But the result was not impressive still.

After around 5 wipes!

So what will I say now!

Pros

  • Color of the nail enamel remover is good
  • Travel friendly packaging
  • Not too expensive

Cons

  • It doesn’t do its work properly
  • Very difficult to remove the nail paints with a few drops of the product.
  • The product gets used up quickly due to the inefficiency.
  • Strong smell

I will give it a rating of 2 may be out of 5! I will never consider purchasing it again unless they improve the quality and I hear something good about it. I will stick to my Lakme one for that matter.

Leave a Reply

