Ranbaxy Suncros Gel Review

sI found recently the importance of  sunscreen lotions in our daily routine in some beauty and health blog. I was using Lotus sunscreen lotion for sometime but since it used to make my skin oily I stopped using it. Now I didn’t want to try out anything common in the market. Instead, I decided to try out something medicated. Then I found this in a drugstore. The main attraction for me was that it’s mentioned that the cream is good for oily skin, in humid and excessive sweat conditions which is true in my case.

The Suncros Gel

The packing is a clumsy plastic cover which was already distorted when I reached home.  It has SPF 26 but nothing is mentioned about UVA and UVB.  The chemical composition is mentioned at the backside of the cover.

Chemical Composition

 

The price is 285 INR for 100g. I think it’s affordable for the quantity it provides.

The plastic container

 

The container is a strong plastic bottle with a flip open cap. The product is mentioned as a gel, but I was surprised to see that it is a thick white lotion with the consistency of that of a cream. I don’t know whether it’s actually cream or lotion, but it’s nothing like gel. Also the opening was a little messy when I tried to squeeze a little quantity. I got more than what I wanted. So it’s difficult to control the amount of the product through the whole on the cap.

The messy opening

I applied it on my hand and saw that it created a white cast and the cream felt smooth to blend.

Cream on my hand

However it got absorbed leaving a healthy glow after some time. It gets completely absorbed into the skin. But I can’t say that it is completely matte, neither it leaves a greasy feel.

Blended- Without flash

 

With flash

I am happy with this cream since it allows my skin to breathe unlike other sunscreen lotions. Also it doesn’t make me sweat more or leaves the skin oily. My only concern is the low SPF. I think that the hot Indian sun needs more SPF and there’s no mention of UVA or UVB protection. Shelf life is 1 year.

What I like about the product

  • Medicated sunscreen cream which allows the skin to breathe
  • No sweat or oily feel
  • Absorbed easily by the skin
  • There’s no smell, or rather no medicine like smell unlike other drugstore products
  • Affordable

What I dislike

  • Low SPF
  • No mention of UVA and UVB protection
  • No detailed ingredients list
  • Messy packing

I will give this a rating of 3.6/5

Will I purchase this again?

I may or may not. Once this is finished, I will search for a product with a higher SPF and UVA UVB protection. If  there’s no such ideal product available I will again buy this since this is really a good product despite the cons

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ranbaxy Suncros Gel Review

Leave a Reply

