L’oreal Paris BaseMagique Transforming Smoothing Primer

I have been on the look out for a good and affordable face primer. My first choice was NYX studio primer but it’s ridiculously expensive in India. I tried to get hold of the Maybelline UV Base, since it’s very less in price compared to other brands. I am using a primer for the first time so I was just curious about it and didn’t want to shell out lot of money.

So I went for the second best option of L’oreal Paris BaseMagique Transforming Smoothing Primer. Priced at 875 INR for 15ml I feel it’s quite expensive. But it sounded very promising and appealing that I was persuaded to buy.

L’oreal Base Magique Primer

The shelf life is given as 2 years but I have read somewhere before that primers get expired within a year. So I doubt whether the claim is true.

Claims by the company

The complete ingredients list is also mentioned on the cover.

Ingredients List

It contains silica which gives the property of opacifying the pores and other imperfections on the skin. But as I read in a website the use of silica has it’s hazards.

Silica is linked to a variety of health hazards, including cancer, allergies, and organ system toxicity. Crystalline Silica is a known respiratory, musculoskeletal, and immune system toxicant, and there has been strong evidence of cancer caused by products that may be aerosolized.

Sounds scary right? But most of the primers use silica as opacifying agent and suspending agent. Also the hazards range from low to high depending on the usage. Since the ingredients list in most of the products don’t specify the concentration we can just hope for the best. 😦 So buy the products at your own risk!

The jar

It comes in a jar packing with a screw cap and has a pale pink color. The texture is quite hard that I thought how I can blend it on the skin. But things may not be the same as it appears! I didn’t feel any particular smell in the product. Due to the thick consistency the cream will never come out of the jar even if we place it upside down.

The primer inside the jar

Despite the extra-thick consistency, the cream feels smooth once applied on the skin and blended. I expected it to be like a cream but it acts differently. It is very much matte in texture and dry but makes the skin feel so smooth. A little bit of the product can cover entire face and neck. So appearance can be deceptive!

On the back of my hand

It gives and instant glow on the skin and can be used as it is without any foundation over it. But however very harsh pimples and blemishes cannot be camouflaged using this. It is very light but for my skin it feels perfect. I cannot say that it moisturizes the skin. However, it’s not meant for that purpose. After blending the face becomes smooth like a “puttied wall” over which we can do makeup and blend easily. It just provides a smooth surface for the makeup and helps the makeup to be in tact for a good time.

Blended on the skin

I use it as an eyeshadow base also and it helps the eyeshadows to show well on my lids. I have given an experiment with the most disobedient Oomph eyeshadow from MAC which has just average pigmentation. The color payoff is better when used over the primer.

Top – without primer
Bottom – with primer

So now summarizing the experience into the good and bad:

The good

  • Good and light primer which smoothens the skin camouflaging the mild imperfections.
  • Gives an instant glow on the skin
  • A small quantity goes a long way
  • Holds the makeup longer
  • Helps the eyeshadows to show better than when using without the primer
  • Doesn’t feel heavy on the skin
  • Good and travel friendly packing
  • Easily available in most of the cosmetic and departmental stores.
  • Does not cause sweat and controls the oil on the face

The bad

  • A good moisturizer is a must before using the primer since it has a tendency to dry out the skin
  • Expensive for the quantity, but I feel this small jar will last for a long time due to the texture.
  • Cannot hide harsh pimples or discoloration of the skin
  • No SPF
  • Silica – the proportion is not unknown so always the users are at risk

Will I purchase this again?

I will have to! I don’t think I have a choice here since no other brand provides a good primer for lesser cost. Though Coloressence and Maybelline provides primers in lesser price they are not easily available in my city. Anyways I definitely don’t regret the purchase and will be buying this again if I don’t find anything with the same quality and quantity for  a lesser price.

Rating : 3.6 / 5

One thought on “L’oreal Paris BaseMagique Transforming Smoothing Primer

Leave a Reply

